2012 Books

After being an avid reader for most of my life, I finally started documenting the books I read every year, beginning with 2010, when I tried to read 100 books in one year.

2010 was a personal book challenge, so I read many more books than normal (78 books).  I think that maybe I burned myself out in 2010 because I hardly picked up a book in 2011 (12 books).  2012 was almost a normal reading year for me.  I didn’t read any books from January thru April, but when I finally started reading again, I picked up about four books at a time and never stopped.  I got my groove back and read 21 books in 8 months.

Two of those books are 800 pages long and took a while to get through, so those took up the time I would have had to read at least two or three more books, but I’m not mad about it.  Those two books have me completely involved in George R. R. Martin’s world of the Seven Kingdoms and it’s a very captivating world to be in.  Martin’s midieval tale isn’t the kind where the prince falls for the pauper’s daughter every time and that’s what I love about it.  It’s cruel and complex and full of battles and sex and lies.  All the shit I love in a story.

Image

My favorite book of 2012 is The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick.  It’s funny and touching and I can’t wait to see the movie.

Image

Number Two on my favorites list is The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky because I underlined so many quotes in the book that I could outline my entire life with them.  One of my favorites:

Standing on the fringes of life… offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

– Stephen Chbosky “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”

Here is the full list of books I read in 2012:

  1. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
  2. Chain Reaction by Simone Elkeles
  3. Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James
  4. Fifty Shades Darker by E. L. James
  5. Fifty Shades Freed by E. L. James
  6. Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin
  7. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson
  8. Bared to You by Sylvia Day
  9. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  10. The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick
  11. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  12. As the Sycamore Grows by Jennie Miller Helderman
  13. Gabriel’s Inferno by Sylvain Reynard
  14. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  15. A Clash of Kings by George R. R. Martin
  16. Burn Down the Ground by Kambri Crews
  17. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  18. Insurgent by Veronica Roth
  19. Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire
  20. Witch World by Christopher Pike
  21. Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

If you are obsessed with the circus, as I am, read The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.  I always imagined that, if I wrote a book, it would be about the circus and it would be dark, sexy, and magical.  Erin Morgenstern beat me to the punch and made it much darker, sexier, and more magical than I would have ever have imagined.

Image

I didn’t really read any bad books this year, which is a blessing after reading so many books I hated in 2010.  With the spark of Fifty Shades, I added more S&M books than normal (Bared to You, Gabriel’s Inferno).  Those are always fun reads, but I noticed that the story lines are almost exactly like Fifty Shades and I got tired of the same story line over and over.

Here’s to good readings in 2013!!

Image

Leave a Reply

