Pulled Porky’s

Just thinking of this pulled pork makes my mouth water.

I frequent a sushi place in Houston called Kubo’s.  They serve a slow roasted pork belly that I crave often.  It’s very tender and very sweet and savory.  I may or may not be known to have licked the serving bowl before.  This pulled pork recipe is the closest thing to the slow roasted pork belly from Kubo’s that I have found. 

This recipe was given to me by a friend that I work with.  She is a slow roasted pork belly fan, as well.  She got the recipe online somewhere, but I don’t remember where.  If it looks familar to you, please let me know and I will credit the creators of the recipe and possibly kiss their feet for sharing it.

Pulled Porky’s

½ c. brown sugar

½ c. soy sauce

½ c. ketchup

¼ c. honey

2 T. vinegar

3 T. minced garlic

 ¼ T. ginger powder

1 t. salt

½ onion (sliced)

3-4 lb. pork roast

1 pkg. Hawaiian sweet rolls

Provolone cheese slices

Place onions in the bottom of the crock pot.  Add roast.  Mix the rest of the ingredients and pour over the roast. 

Cook 2-3 hours on high or 4-5 hours on low.  Shred the pork and leave in for 1 more hour. 

Serve on Hawaiian sweet rolls with a slice of provolone.

I served Pulled Porky’s with Mony Mony Macaroni and it was the perfect summer combo.

You can also roll the leftovers up in some flour tortillas, throw green enchilada sauce on the top, and bake at 350 degrees until bubbly.  It sounds wierd to have sweet enchiladas, but it’s amazing when you mix the sweetness of the pork with the tangy, spicy enchilada sauce.

Printable Recipe:

Pulled Porky’s

One comment

  1. Pingback: Mony Mony Macaroni Salad « Very Bad Hair

Leave a Reply

