Mony Mony Macaroni Salad

My sister-in-law gave me this recipe.  She says her mother has made it for years.  It’s the perfect dish for an outdoor barbecue.  I think the cheese is the secret sauce to this recipe, so don’t forget to add the cheese.

I try to use ingredients I already have on hand.  I had a lot of lunch cheeses left over from Eat My Meatloaf, so I chopped it up instead of using the Mexican cheese blend that this recipe calls for.  Also, the sugar played hookie on picture day.

Mony Mony Macaroni Salad

1 sm. bag macaroni shells
1 cucumber (peeled and diced)
2 roma tomatoes (seeded and diced)
½ med onion (diced)
½ c. mayonnaise (no miracle whip!)
¼ c. sugar
¼ c. milk
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp. season-all
2 c. shredded Mexican cheese blend

Boil the noodles, drain really well, refrigerate (you can boil the noodles a day ahead).  Throw the diced veggies on top of the noodles.  In a bowl, mix together the mayo, sugar, and just enough milk to make it ribbon (about ¼ cup).  Mix garlic and season-all into the sauce.  Gently fold the sauce into the noodles/veggies a little at a time until everything is thinly covered.  Fold in the cheese.  Chill for 2 hours.

I like Lawry’s seasoned salt, but “25% less sodium” means you have to add your own salt.

I was cooking for a crowd.  This recipe will make half of what is pictured below.

I made this with some baby Pulled Porky’s sandwiches for a camping trip on the Guadalupe River.  Here is the chow line, full of some very hungry River Rats:

Printable recipe:

 Mony Mony Macaroni Salad

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Pulled Porky’s « Very Bad Hair
  2. Pingback: Primo Pineapple Pie « Very Bad Hair

Leave a Reply

