Garlic Asparagus

If you’re married, you probably go without eating things that you love only because your spouse does not like the food you like.  Or am I the only one?  Mushrooms and asparagus are two things that I love, but nobody in my household eats them, so I go without them most of the time.  I take that back.  I go without mushrooms.  I can live without them.  I can’t go without asparagus.  I love asparagus enough that I will make a whole bundle just for myself.

It was the perfect partner for Eat My Meatloaf and Cheesy Garlic Mashed Potatoes.

Garlic Asparagus

 1 bundle asparagus

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 oz. butter (1/2 stick)

1 tsp. salt

¼ tsp. black pepper

 Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Spray cookie sheet with non-stick cooking spray.  Wash and break off raw ends of asparagus.  Arrange on cookie sheet.  Melt the next 4 ingredients in a microwave safe bowl (covered, with a vent hole) for 30 seconds.  Stir.  Continue microwaving in 15 second increments until the butter is melted, stirring in between.  Pour mixture over asparagus.  Bake for 10 minutes, or until soft, but not mushy.

Yes.  Babafa goes without plenty of his favorite foods also.  I don’t eat peas or lima beans, so he hasn’t had either of those in the past 10 years.  Apparently, he doesn’t miss them or else he would have cooked some up for himself, but I haven’t seen him do such a thing.  He cooks.  He’s just sweet enough to cook only what we both like.

Printable Recipe:

Garlic Asparagus

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Eat My Meatloaf « Very Bad Hair
  2. Pingback: Chicken Skilletini | PaChomp

Leave a Reply

