Where the Wild Things Are

These are barred owls.  They live in my back yard.  We named them Bob and Terry.  Barred Owls are Texas natives.  I took these two pictures this morning.  Bob flew into that tree with his kill hanging from his talons as I watched, but none of the pictures came out of him in flight.  😦They aren’t too scared of us.  Terry watched me as I took out the trash.  Then, I ran for my camera and he waited until I got back. 

My culture taught me to fear owls, so it’s kind of scary to see them so close.  However, this couple has been here since way before we moved in to our house and I’ve grown a soft spot for them over the past four years we’ve lived here. 

We even got to watch them teach their two baby owls how to fly and hunt last year.  It was amazing and I was late to work almost every day, but I came in with baby owl stories, so I totally got away with it. 

(Yeah, yeah, the kids have demolished the back yard.  I’m over it.)  This is Terry.  She heard me come onto the porch.  She turned and looked at me, then went back to her hunting lesson. 

One of the babies is on the opposite side of the trampoline net.  Can you see it?  The other baby is on a low hanging tree limb to the left, but I couldn’t get a good shot of her from where I stood.  Bob is in a tree high up to the right.

I could only get the three of them in a single shot, but here it is.  I don’t have the best camera, so these are probably the best pictures I’ll ever be able to get.

It didn’t take long for Bob to swoop down and catch something in his talons.  They eat mice and lizards and such.

We got their names from the movie, Where the Wild Things Are.  The movie came out not long after we noticed we had a pair of owls in our back yard. 

Do me a solid?  Don’t tell any of my indigenous relatives that I love these owls. 😀

Leave a Reply

