Eat My Meatloaf

This recipe is from my father-in-law.  He made it with whatever lunch meat and lunch cheeses he had on hand.  So you can mix up the ingredients if you wish.  I was in the mood for Italian, so I used some Italian type lunch meats.  I think the spices of these meats really took the meatloaf to another level.  I considered using ground sausage, but I think I’m going to save that idea for next time.

Eat My Meatloaf

 2 lbs. ground  beef

1 tbsp. Salt

1 tbsp. Garlic Powder

1 tbsp. Basil

1 tbsp. Oregano

1/2 tbsp. Pepper

10 Pastrami slices

10 Cotto Salami slices

10 Pepperoni sandwich slices

5 Muenster Cheese slices

5 Sharp Cheddar slices

5 Pepper Jack slices

1 c. Mozzarella, shredded

 On a sheet of foil, lay out the ground beef and pat out into a rectangle approximately 12 inches wide by 18 inches long and 1/2 inch thick.  A rolling pin may help.  Evenly coat the top with all of the spices.  Layer the sliced meat on top in rows.  Layer the sliced cheeses on top of meat in rows.  Very carefully, roll the meat in to a log.  Re-center the log onto the foil, seam side down, and pick up the loaf with the foil and lay into a 9X13 dish and adjust the foil to the dish.  (Or you can roll the log off into the dish, like we did.)  Bake at 400 degrees for 1 hour or until the middle is no longer pink.  Top the meatloaf with Tha Boss Marinara Sauce and shredded mozzarella.

I forgot to get the mozz at the market, so we had to eat it without.  Fuhgeddabouditalready!!

I served Eat My Meatloaf with Garlic Asparagus and Cheesy Garlic Mashed Potatoes.

Printable Recipe:

Eat My Meatloaf

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Tha Boss Marinara Sauce « Very Bad Hair
  2. Pingback: Garlic Asparagus « Very Bad Hair
  3. Pingback: Cheesy Garlic Mashed Potatoes « Very Bad Hair
  4. Pingback: Mony Mony Macaroni Salad « Very Bad Hair

Leave a Reply

