I’m a Failure!!

In February 2010, I decided to read 100 books before the New Year. 
 
I FAILED MISERABLY.
 
Well, sort of… I read 78 books.
 
When I read, I block out all other signs of life.  By the time I finish a book at night, Ducky is playing in the street and Babafa is still waiting on me to tell him what I want for dinner.  In the mean time, I’m fighting for my life as I run through a forest with only my bow and arrow while in a love triangle with Gale and Peeta. 
That scenario is actually from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  It’s the first book in a three book series and I rank all three better than the other 75 books I read this year.  They are Young Adult books, but you would enjoy them no matter what age or gender you are.  (Now go out and read them then let’s have coffee!!)
 
Book #4 on my “Best Of 2010” list would be This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper.  The humor from it has stayed with me since I read the book and I might even read it again this year.  It’s an adult read with very adult material, which was very welcome after all the very smut books I put in my head over the year.
Speaking of smut…I read a lot of smut books.  I made a vow to read any and everything that crosses my path and I know a lot of awesome people that read mostly vampire and teen drama. 
 
I’m going to keep the same rule with 2011.  I accept all book suggestions and I really do try to find and read every book that is recommended to me.
 
The top two books on my “Worst of 2010” list would be Guilty Pleasures and The Laughing Corpse, both by Laurell K. Hamilton.  I’m not sure how I got through them, but I kept telling myself that if I made the painstaking journey through the Lord of the Rings series without gouging my eyes out successfully, I can get through at least two books in Hamilton’s 20 (and counting) book series.  Ewe.
 
DON’T JUDGE ME BY THE BOOKS I READ.
 
I have already begun my new commitment of reading 100 books in 2011.  It should be easier now that I got a Nook for my birthday last month.  (Thanks Bud and Mom!)  Here’s to a New Year and a new quota of 100 books!!  Wish me luck!
 

See the 100… I mean…. 78 books I read in 2010 below….

3 comments

  1. Champ Superstar

    Coincidentally, a famous author I know attempted to read a book a week in 2010. You edged him out by 26 books. He wrote posts about it and everything! You beat him! Find him @julien. He's quite interesting.

  2. Pingback: 2012 Books « PaChomp

Leave a Reply

