I Miss the Grounds

I am a traditional Mvkoke (Muscogee) Creek stomp dancer.  Our stomp grounds hosts 4 or 5 dances a year.  I make it to about 2 dances a year.  I live 9 hours away from our grounds and I miss so much about being out there during the long period that I am at home.  I miss my extended family and friends and the singing and dancing with the late nights and little sleep and wild animals and bugs.  When I miss the grounds, I cook campfire food on my gas stove.  Here is what I made for our latest campfire dinner:

Cowboy Bread
2 cups flour
2 cups milk
Mix until a dough forms.  Kneed dough and flatten into a one inch thick disk.  Cook in a cast iron skillet with a lid.  Turn over when the bottom burns (this really is the only way I know how, apparently, because I’ve never made it without burning it).

Once you see that the cowboy bread is burning, panic and break out the Jiffy cake.  Follow the directions on the package and add a few tablespoons of sugar to the mix.  For maximum muffin tops, let the mixture sit for a few minutes before spooning into the cups.


These are not maximum muffin tops.
What’s bread without beans?  Never EVER make homemade bread (or Jiffy cake for that matter) without making a huge ass pot of beans!  That’s rule #1 to being Native American and should actually be rule #1 for the world.
The key to making beans is soaking them the right amount of time (6 hours in 6 cups of water for 1 lb of beans) and draining the water before adding new water to cook them in.  Also, keep Obsessive Stirrers out of the kitchen. If your family members stir the beans every time they walk by, you will have mush for dinner.
Navy Beans
1 lb navy beans (also called Great Northern Beans)
1 lb salt pork (all we had was sausage on campfire day)
lots of pinto bean seasoning
Boil beans, meat, and seasoning for 1.5 hours or until beans are tender.

We used the cheapest sausage I could find and these beans still tasted lummy and lishus.  Also, don’t worry if you burn the cowboy bread.  It still tastes great and it will still disappear in a house full of savages.  If you don’t believe me, invite me over when you make it.

One comment

Leave a Reply

