Green Corn 2007


Nothing makes me happier than being at my stompgrounds. This year’s Green Corn was the best. It rained and we had a hard time doing the work we had to do to get ready for the celebration of our harvest and new year, but it was all worth it. See if you can find me in this picture. I’m on the far left wearing a white shirt and red skirt.


The best news from the week long celebration is that my hard-working mother was picked to be one of our First Four in our Ribbon Dance. It’s really an honor. The First Four lead the Ribbon Dance and represent our grounds. I’m so proud of her. I made our dresses this year. I’m not the best seamstress, but I love to sew. I added pockets to our dresses this year. I modernized them! I held a folded paper towel in my pocket to wipe my forehead when I sweated. I worked just like a pocket should. Next year I’ll make our dresses a little shorter. Also, I like for us to match our material and have a little different design. That’s always a nice touch.

Here is an email conversation between our Mekko, my Mom, and I about the week:

Mekko: I’ve been meaining to send you a quick note to say thank you to you and PaChomp for all of your hard work this past weekend. You guys did a good job and everything went well, seems like the time just came and went. You did good in the ribbon dance. I plan on dancing on labor day weekend on Sat.
Anyway, thank you for everything, you guys make my job easier, Thank you, Mekko

My Mom: You’re very welcome!
..and you’re right…the time went by very, very fast.
Of course, we always enjoy the time we spend at the grounds. It’s a time for us to “de-stress”, even though we work hard at all the cooking and cleaning, it always turns out to be a really enjoyable time to eat, dance and most importantly TO VISIT!
I am sincerely honored by your decision to include me in the first four women, and I want to thank you for that.
I think I can speak for PaChomp on this, if there is anything we can ever do to help out, don’t hesitate to ask us. I know PaChomp is always the first one to “roll up her sleeves”, jump in, and get it done.
Take care and we’ll see you Labor Day weekend.

Me: Mekko, I appreciate your confidence and respect for my mom in including her in the first four this year. I think she deserved it and did a great job. I’m very proud to have somebody from our camp help represent our grounds…and even more proud that it was my Mom! Pepsi was ecstatic too when she found out after Arbor Dance.

I’ve always wanted to tell you that I think you’ve done a great job running our grounds. You’ve created a very welcoming and happy environment for everybody. None of us would continue to come back if that weren’t the case. I remember when there were just 15-20 people taking medicine and the nights were so long. This year I had so much fun during Green Corn dance that I wasn’t ready for last dance. I like having so many young people out there, too.

Like my mom said… If there’s anything we can do to help you, your family, or the grounds please let us know.

I can’t wait till Labor Day weekend. Mvto and we’ll see you then!


A few of my cousins danced in Ribbon Dance, too. They did a great job and I’m very proud of them. Ribbon Dance requires a lot of patience and it’s tough to stick it out in the heat while dancing. They stayed through the entire dance and didn’t complain about the heat or how tired they must have been.

Leave a Reply

